Holy Days of Obligation

In addition to Sunday, the days to be observed as holy days of obligation in the Latin Rite dioceses of the US, in conformity with Canon 1246, are as follows:

The Province of Seattle has permanently transferred the Solemnity of the Ascension to the Seventh Sunday of Easter.

Our Holy Days of Obligation for 2018 are as follows:

*January 1:  Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God.
**Thursday of Sixth Week of Easter: Ascension of the Lord
August 15:  Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  
November 1:  Solemnity of All Saints.
December 8:  Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception.
December 25:  Solemnity of the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ.

*Not a Holy Day of Obligation this year.


Whenever January 1, the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God, or August 15, the Solemnity of the Assumption, or November 1, the Solemnity of All Saints, falls on a Saturday or on a Monday, the precept to attend Mass is abrogated.

** In accord with the provisions of canon 1246, §2 of the Code of Canon Law, which states: “… the conference of bishops can abolish certain holy days of obligation or transfer them to a Sunday with prior approval of the Apostolic See,” the National Conference of Catholic Bishops of the United States decrees that the Ecclesiastical Provinces of the United States may transfer the Solemnity of the Ascension of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ from Thursday of the Sixth Week of Easter to the Seventh Sunday of Easter.